Print Version
Search


 

ELIPS®
Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève
rue Gabrielle Perret-Gentil 4
(ex - 24 rue Micheli-du-Crest)
1211 Genève 14
e-mail : elips.heart@hcuge.ch

Sedentary lifestyle 

Physical activity reduces the risk of developing conditions such as osteoporosis, cardiovascular disease, colon cancer, obesity, and diabetes. Furthermore, exercise helps control body weight, decreases blood pressure, increases good cholesterol and decreases triglycerides. It strengthens muscles and helps with digestion.

Physical activity is not only good for the body, but also for the mind. It increases self esteem, decreases anxiety and helps with the quality of sleep.

When in good health, it is recommended to do 30 minutes of physical activity a day. It is not necessary for these to be consecutive minutes. One should accumulate 150 minutes of physical activity a week. It is the sum of small daily activities that make you an active person.

First, dedicate a moment in the day reserved for exercise. Then find and activity that interest you. The most important thing is for you to enjoy the activity. You can also jojn a gym club, whether it is specialised in cardiac rehabilitation or not.

Here are a few tricks to stay active:

After a cardiac event, there are several rules to follow when restarting physical activity. Take part in a cardiac rehabilitation programme. Get advice from your physician/cardiologist.

Last modified on 27/09/2010

Version imprimable
Recherche


 

ELIPS®
Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève
rue Gabrielle Perret-Gentil 4
(ex - 24 rue Micheli-du-Crest)
1211 Genève 14
e-mail : elips.heart@hcuge.ch

La sédentarité

L’activité physique réduit le risque de développer certaines maladies telles que l’ostéoporose, les maladies cardio-vasculaires, le cancer du côlon, l’obésité, le diabète. De plus, l’exercice aide au contrôle du poids, diminue la pression artérielle, augmente le bon cholestérol et diminue les triglycérides. Il renforce aussi les muscles et aide à la digestion.

L’activité physique a non seulement des bienfaits sur le corps, mais elle en a aussi sur l’esprit.
Elle augmente l’estime de soi, diminue l’anxiété et améliore la qualité du sommeil.

Lorsqu’on est en bonne santé, il est recommandé de faire 30 minutes d’activité physique par jour. Il n’est pas nécessaire que les 30 minutes soient consécutives. Il suffit d’accumuler au minimum 150 minutes d’activité physique par semaine. C’est l’addition de toutes les petites activités quotidiennes qui feront de vous une personne active.

Fixez-vous d’abord un moment dans la journée qui sera réservé à l’exercice. Puis, trouvez une activité qui vous intéresse. L’important, c’est de vous amuser. Vous pouvez aussi vous inscrire à un centre sportif, spécialisé ou non en réadaptation cardiaque.

Voici quelques trucs pour bouger :

À la suite d’un épisode de maladie cardiaque, il y a quelques règles à observer pour la reprise des activités. Inscrivez-vous à un programme de rééducation cardiaque. Demandez conseil à votre médecin traitant/cardiologue.

Dernière modification le 27/09/2010